SCRIPTURE READINGS: December 2021

 Monday, December 13

Memorial of St. Lucy, Virgin and Martyr

Numbers 24:2-7, 15-17a

Psalm 25:4-5ab, 6 and 7bc, 8-9

Psalm 85:8

Matthew 21:23-27

 

Tuesday, December 14

Memorial of St. John of the Cross, Priest and Doctor of the Church

Zephaniah 3:1-2, 9-13

Psalm 34:2-3, 6-7, 17-18, 19 and 23

Matthew 21:28-32

 

Wednesday, December 15

Wednesday of the Third Week of Advent

Isaiah 45:6c-8, 18, 21c-25

Psalm 85:9ab and 10, 11-12, 13-14

Isaiah 40:9-10

Luke 7:18b-23

 

Thursday, December 16

Thursday of the Third Week of Advent

Isaiah 54:1-10

Psalm 30:2 and 4, 5-6, 11-12a and 13b

Luke 3:4, 6

Luke 7:24-30

 

Friday, December 17

Friday of the Third Week of Advent

Genesis 49:2, 8-10

Psalm 72:1-2, 3-4ab, 7-8, 17

Matthew 1:1-17

 

Saturday, December 18

Saturday of the Third Week of Advent

Jeremiah 23:5-8

Psalm 72:1-2, 12-13, 18-19

Matthew 1:18-25

 

Sunday, December 19

Fourth Sunday of Advent

Micah 5:1-4a

Psalm 80:2-3, 15-16, 18-19

Hebrews 10:5-10

Luke 1:38

Luke 1:39-45

 

Monday, December 20

Monday of the Fourth Week of Advent

Isaiah 7:10-14

Psalm 24:1-2, 3-4ab, 5-6

Luke 1:26-38

 

Tuesday, December 21

Tuesday of the Fourth Week of Advent

Song of Songs 2:8-14

Psalm 33:2-3, 11-12, 20-21

Luke 1:39-45

 

Optional Memorial of St. Peter Canisius, Priest and Doctor of the Church

2 Timothy 4:1-5

Psalm 40:2 and 4, 7-8a, 8b-9, 10, 11

Matthew 5:16

Matthew 5:13-19

 

Wednesday, December 22

Wednesday of the Fourth Week of Advent

1 Samuel 1:24-28

1 Samuel 2:1, 4-5, 6-7, 8abcd

Luke 1:46-56

 

Thursday, December 23

Thursday of the Fourth Week of Advent

Malachi 3:1-4, 23-24

Psalm 25:4-5ab, 8-9, 10 and 14

Luke 1:57-66

 

Optional Memorial of St. John of Kanty, Priest

James 2:14-17

Psalm 112:1bc-2, 3-4, 5-7, 6-8, 9

John 13:34

Luke 6:27-38

 

Friday, December 24

Friday of the Fourth Week of Advent

Mass in the Morning

2 Samuel 7:1-5, 8b-12, 14a, 16

Psalm 89:2-3, 4-5, 27 and 29

Luke 1:67-79

 

Saturday, December 25

The Nativity of the Lord (Christmas)

Vigil Mass

Isaiah 62:1-5

Psalm 89:4-5, 16-17, 27, 29

Acts 13:16-17, 22-25

Matthew 1:1-25

or Matthew 1:18-25

 

Mass during the Night

Isaiah 9:1-6

Psalm 96:1-2, 2-3, 11-12, 13

Titus 2:11-14

Luke 2:10-11

Luke 2:1-14

 

Mass at Dawn

Isaiah 62:11-12

Psalm 97:1, 6, 11-12

Titus 3:4-7

Luke 2:14

Luke 2:15-20

 

Mass during the Day

Isaiah 52:7-10

Psalm 98:1, 2-3, 3-4, 5-6

Hebrews 1:1-6

John 1:1-18

or John 1:1-5, 9-14